Energy & Water Committee

The Energy & Water Committee works to ensure the region’s energy and water supplies remain dependable and cost-effective. The committee does this by reviewing and weighing in on relevant local, state, and federal legislation to ensure San Diego moves towards a more reliable, affordable, and diverse water supply as well as more renewable and cost-competitive energy sources.

The Energy & Water Committee meets the first Thursday of each month from 7:30 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. at the Chamber office located at 402 West Broadway, Suite 1000.

If you’re interested in learning more about our policy committees or would like to join the Energy & Water Committee, contact Sophie Barnhorst at

Committee Activities

On the energy-side, the Energy & Water Committee advocates for investment in essential energy infrastructure, access to renewable energy resources and increasing the use of cost-effective cogeneration, distributed generation and alternative energy solutions; including hybrid, solar, wind and biomass generated power options.

With regard to water, the committee works with the San Diego County Water Authority, other water agencies, the City of San Diego, and elected officials to explore every avenue to bring drought-proof water supply to the San Diego region, including recycled water and seawater desalination, to make San Diego less dependent on imported water.

Current committee members

Chair: Lisa Kay
Vice Chair: Colleen Klaiber