Baja’s Candidates for 2021 Elections

Elections for governor, as well as for local offices across Baja, will take place in June. MORENA (President Lopez Obrador’s political party) announced its candidates for municipal elections in Baja: Montserrat Caballero for the City of Tijuana; Norma Bustamante for the City of Mexicali; Dario Benitez for the City of Tecate; and Armando Ayala and Araceli Brown, who will seek reelection for Ensenada and Rosarito, respectively. For the governor’s race, Mexicali Mayor Marina del Pilar will represent MORENA.

Meanwhile, the opposition’s new coalition composed of the PRI, PAN, and PRD political parties announced former Miss Universe Lupita Jones will represent the party for the governor’s race and former Tijuana Mayor Jorge Ramos will run for the opportunity to serve a second term. Other candidates running for governor include former Tijuana Mayor and businessman Jorge Hank Rhon with PES; Tijuana real estate businessman Jorge Ojeda with Fuerza Mexico; attorney and activist Carlos Atilano with PBC; and former Baja state representative Victoria Bentley with PRSP. All gubernatorial candidates participated in the first debate that took place this past weekend, and our partners at UCSD’s Center for U.S.-Mexican Studies and Tijuana Innovadora also held a public forum on April 15 that includes most of the candidates.