Caroline Winn (02)


Caroline Winn is the Chief Operating Officer for San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E), one of Sempra Energy’s regulated California utilities. Sempra Energy is a San Diego-based Fortune 500 energy services holding company whose subsidiaries provide electricity, natural gas and value-added products and services. SDG&E is a regulated public utility that provides service to 3.6 million consumers through 1.4 million electric meters and more than 873,000 natural gas meters in San Diego and southern Orange counties. Ms. Winn became COO of SDG&E in January 2017. Previously, Ms. Winn served as Chief Energy Delivery Officer, overseeing all energy delivery activities for SDG&E, including electric distribution operations and gas services, customer services, and external and state legislative affairs. Prior to that, Ms. Winn was Vice President of Customer Services and Chief Customer Privacy Officer, overseeing all customer-related activities for SDG&E, including call centers, smart pricing program, energy efficiency, demand response and customer assistance programs, customer privacy, revenue cycle activities, electric rates and analysis, field services, corporate brand, marketing, and customer communications. Since joining the company in 1986 as an associate engineer, Ms. Winn has held a number of leadership positions with SDG&E and Southern California Gas Co. (SoCalGas). Previously, she was Director of Supply Chain Management for both SDG&E and SoCalGas following her role as Director of Transmission and Distribution Asset Management responsible for distribution planning, electric reliability, compliance management and information technology management. Ms. Winn has a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from California State University Sacramento and is a registered professional engineer in the state of California.  She is also a 2002 LEAD San Diego graduate. Ms. Winn serves on the Management Council and Board of Directors of the San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce.  She also serves on the Board of Directors of the Western Energy Institute and the Board of Advisors for the UC Davis Energy Efficiency Center.