News & Updates

San Diego Young Leaders Recap

San Diego Young Leaders held their first Board and General meeting Thursday, January 28th. Landon Donovan, SDYL Board Chair and San Diego Loyal’s Vice President of Soccer met with the program cohort and answered their questions!

As Landon stated, “We want to ignite this city through our soccer and our soul!” While soccer is not our forte here at LEAD, we do have exciting things on the horizon with our Young Leaders group and encourage you to invite any colleagues, employees or folks in your network that are under 40 to be a part of this strong network of emerging leaders. Visit our website for more information.

LEADers On The Move – February 2021

We enjoy seeing what our graduates are doing and how they are making an impact on the world. Share your good news with us via email:

The following LEAD program graduates have recently taken on a new title:

Jen Summers (18), Director, Tribal Relations & Land Services, SDG&E

Kristoffer Kelly (18), Vice President BK Foundation Advisors

Adriana Ochoa (13), Partner, Procopio, Cory, Hargreaves & Savitch LLP

Supervisor Nora Vargas (06), Board Member, San Diego County Regional Airport Authority

Elvin Lai (17), Board Chair, San Diego Convention Center Corporation & Honorary Mayor, Pacific Beach Town Council

Sofia Salgado Robitaille (97), Board Member, MANA National

Jennifer LeSar (97), Board Member, Port of San Diego

Carrie Jones (12), Chief Communications Officer, Raindrop

Kenia Zamarripa (19), Member of 2021 Cohort, HOPE Leadership Institute – Hispanas Organized for Political Equality

Tiana Babcock, General Manager (16), Naval Medical Center San Diego Fisher House

Lauren Rowley (18), Director, Investor Relations, Ad Astra Ventures & Stella Angels

Kimberly Becker (19), Board Member, Airports Council International – North America

Elizabeth Cox (16), Board President, FBI San Diego Citizens Academy Alumni Association

James Sly (15), President & CEO, San Diego East County Economic Development Council

April Tellez Green (21), President-Elect, Public Relations Society of America, San Diego Chapter

Erika Schimmel-Guiles (21), Corporate Walk Chair, 2021 Light the Night Walk, Leukemia & Lymphoma Society of San Diego

Haley Peterson Wonsley (19), Chair, Oceanside Chamber

Hali Anderson (18), Recipient, 2020 Earl B. Gilliam Bar Foundation President’s Award

Courtney Prato (19), Solution Marketing Director, PowerSchool