San Diego Legislative Updates

Last Friday, the SANDAG Board of Directors approved the 2021 Regional Plan and directed staff to explore alternatives to the proposed road user charge within six months.

The San Diego City Council elected Councilman Sean Elo-Rivera as council president, replacing Councilwoman Jennifer Campbell, who held the role for the past year. Elo-Rivera also announced appointments for committee assignments and outside agencies.  

Appointment of Committee Assignments for 2022

Appointments to Outside Organizations for 2022

The County’s Independent Redistricting Commission voted to approve the final County map that was discussed and adjusted over the past weekend on December 14. The biggest changes were to ensure that District 1 is a minority-majority district, continue to keep El Cajon in District 2, ensure District 3 as a coastal district, add Spring Valley and Paradise Hills to District 4, and mostly maintain the current District 5. 

Here’s what happened at this week’s San Diego City Council and Committee hearings:

Upcoming County Public Input Opportunities Reminders:

  • The Planning Commission voted to continue the vehicle miles traveled (VMT) update item to January 7, 2022. The Chamber continues to monitor how changes to the current policy and potential mitigation options could affect future development in the County. 

Upcoming Hearings

  • The SANDAG Board of Directors will meet on December 17.